Can Your Cell Phone Cook Your Brain Right Inside Your Head?

By the time I received this email from my cousin Courtney, the “forward” was 10 levels deep.  This baby’s getting around!  Actually, this particular urban legend is enjoying a second life after last year’s viral campaign claiming an egg can be cooked by placing it between two activated cell phones.  The concept seems to have originated from an article written on the Wymsey Village Web site in 2000.  Though the site publishes spoofs, some genius (maybe two or three of ’em) decided to take that ball and run with it.  And we, the ever-wiilling to swallow whatever looks like it might be juicy, slam-dunked it right into lore (Source: snopes.com).

Alas, we are easily bored, so if the same old hoax is to keep us fascinated, it needs a shiny new coat of paint.  In June of this year, the new model was rolled out, making me wonder why it took so long to reach my inbox.  The email carried a couple of comments from a few of the people who had forwarded it.  Comments like:

“THIS IS WHY YOU NEED TO STOP USING YOUR CELL PHONE SO MUCH!!  Check this out!”

There was a single word below that linked me to a video and promised me I would not believe my eyes.  The word was:

POPCORN

Let’s face it, popcorn is a much more dynamic food than eggs.  At least, from what you can see with the naked eye.  Here’s what the link led me to:

Wasn’t that fun?

Now, if you’ve never encountered this concept before, chances are good you’ll do the same thing you did when you saw emails like the other one’s I’ve posted in this blog (Bill Cosby is running for president and the “front fell off” an Australian oil tanker): You’ll wonder for a minute or two whether this could really happen.  But, let me make this very, very easy for you.  It can’t.  The three scenes in the video were actually part of a marketing campaign for a company called Cardo Systems, which manufactures wireless headsets (among other things).  The YouTube community gobbled it up like cotton candy and a simple search on “cell phone popcorn” yields almost as many copycat videos as smarty-pants debunking videos.  Go ahead and play with that over at YouTube if you have some free time on your hands.  It’s good, mindless fun.  But, I wouldn’t recommend actually getting your friends together with their cell phones and sitting around a coffee table for an hour trying to discover the truth about this for yourself.  There is a difference, you know, between good, mindless fun and a complete waste of time!

In the interest of responsible reporting, I feel compelled to spend a moment on the current facts about the dangers (or lack of danger) of using your cell phone.  Here’s a video from a 2007 Fox News broadcast:

And, for a more recent update, here’s a blog from Brian Dunning called Skeptoid that brings it all together very nicely.  It has links to articles, references, and everything!  I just became a fan of Skeptoid while researching this post!  Of course, since he’s an atheist, I wish I could use my cell phone to transmit the truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ right in to his doubting brain, but he’s a smart guy and does some very good work.

I’ll leave you with one heartfelt request:  Please hang up and drive!

Proverbs 21:28 A false witness shall perish, But the man who hears him will speak endlessly.

One Response

  1. LOL!!! I never did have a chance to try this, although I did want to. I found it on You Tube today with the Blue Tooth guy saying that they digitally edited it. It did look real though lol. Now I won’t waste my time with testing it hehe. I do believe cell phones causing cancer may be a possibility. Using a Blue Tooth might do the same some how too. I’ll be reading the rest of your blogs shortly! xoxo

Leave a Reply

