Eeeeewwww! Bugs! (Except For This Cool Pet Spider!)

Since I moved to Florida, I’ve had to get a whole lot more comfortable with creepy things as a survival mechanism!  Things just don’t want to die here and they don’t want to stay small!  New Yorkers are supposed to be tough, but I have new respect for people who have lived with Palmetto bugs their entire lives!  I must admit, I’m enjoying the reptile life.  The ubiquitous brown anoles (genericly referred to simply as “lizards,” here) aren’t even indiginous, but I’m no longer alarmed at the way my hedges suddenly come alive when I open the front door.  I talk to them when they’re sunning themselves on my back patio and have even made friends with a few who will sit in my palm for a few minutes.  The little green tree frogs that come out at night and stick to my windows are adorable and the toad that sits just outside my sliding glass door every single night now has a name (Theodore).  He’s come in for a few minutes on occasion when I open the door to take the dog out.  The dog likes him, too…and I don’t mean that in the culinary sense of the word!  But, I digress.  We’re here to talk about insects today.  Well, I kind of misled you.  We’re here to talk about animated virtual spiders, specifically.  Check this out:

Don't scream...it's just Flash!

Don't scream - it's just Flash!

Apparently, this fella (Tomas Erikkson) is working out the details of creating a lifelike spider using Flash and he wants your feedback.  I haven’t given him any  yet because I’m having too much fun dragging the spider around.  I’ll let him know about this blog, though.

Instructions on how to move the spider on in the upper left corner and controls for the spider’s size, leg length, speed, etc. are on the right.  He advises using the space bar to add insects which the spider will go and eat up, but you can also left click on your mouse to make that happen.  If you simply move your mouse around and sit still for a moment, he’ll track you, too.  That’s the creepiest part.  It invokes the instinctual, “Oh no!  He’s coming this way!” response.

And, for kicks, he includes a link to this video of a cat responding to the spider being dragged across three flat screen monitors!

Eriksson is working out the kinks of a number of things that look like they may be interesting when completed, but I had a good time for a few minutes with this Table Tennis prototype.  Go on, waste some time!  Then, COME BACK AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT!  I’m comment lonely!

Genesis 1:27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. 28 Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

One Response

  1. Thanks for the comprehensive blog post about my spider project!

Leave a Reply

