The Front Fell Off

Friend Patricia sent this to me the other day.  It came along with the following claim:

On August 19th 2007, an oil tanker off the coast of Australia split in two, dumping 20,000 tons of crude oil.

Senator Collins, a member of the Australian Parliament, appeared on a TV news program to reassure the Australian public. This actual interview is so funny, you’d swear it was a ‘Saturday Night Live’ or ‘Monty Python’ skit.

It just proves….. Once a politician, always a politician!

Now, of course, Patricia and I (being the brilliant, discerning people we are) felt this simply had to be a spoof.  We hate to burst your bubble…you were probably sitting there scratching your head wondering how you could have missed the news item they were discussing!  Just kidding…we’re sure most people didn’t fall for this.

Anyway, I snoped it, as I always do before making up my mind about anything remotely viral that appears in my inbox.  They patiently and somewhat condescendingly explain that “attentive views should be able to discern that it’s probably not on the level.”  It’s in the neatness and cripness of the dialog, you see.  The fact is, the gentlemen you see in this video are Australian comedy duo John Clarke and Brian Dawe who have a program on ABC television down under called “7:30 News.”  If you loved this sketch, try searching on either of their names on YouTube and you’ll find a plethora of others.  I watched a couple and didn’t like them nearly as much as this one.  This is a masterpiece of comic timing and great writing in the tradition of Monty Python…a long-time favorite of mine!

I found myself wondering if Americans (and Canadians, for that matter, since Patricia is one of those) can really believe politicians and broadcasters are so utterly irreverent and inept in Australia.  I wish I could be a fly on the wall as people open their inboxes, watch this video, and say, “Could that really be real?”  Well, the joke’s on us, isn’t it?  I’m betting most Aussies wouldn’t buy it if the tables were turned.  Wait…we do have some pretty ridiculous politicians and broadcasters.  I think I just shot myself in the foot!  Ha!  Oh, just watching it and have a good laugh!

John 8:32 “And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”


					
2 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

